California requires vehicle owners to have liability insurance, but not everybody follows the rules. In fact, California has the greatest number of uninsured vehicles in the country. Suing uninsured drivers is not likely to be fruitful because they rarely have high incomes or substantial assets, making a judgment virtually unenforceable. That’s why every California uninsured motorist accident attorney will tell you how important this type of coverage is.
What Is Uninsured Motorist Insurance Coverage?
Uninsured motorist insurance coverage will pay for your medical bills, lost earnings, pain, suffering, and mental anguish, if you are involved in an accident where the responsible party is uninsured. This will protect you in the following situations:
- Driver or passenger hit by uninsured car;
- Passenger in an uninsured car;
- Hit and run;
You can choose the policy limits you feel comfortable with for your uninsured motorist coverage depending on your needs. If you don’t have great health insurance or disability coverage, uninsured motorist coverage can provide a much needed financial resource if you have an accident.
What Is Underinsured Motorist Insurance Coverage?
The minimum liability policy limits in California are $15,000 per injured person, $30,000 for all injured people per incident, and only $5,000 for property damage. That’s why experienced Turlock, Monterey, Merced, or Modesto, CA uninsured motorist accident attorneys recommend purchasing inexpensive underinsured motorist insurance to supplement what you can collect if you are involved in an accident with a driver only carrying the minimum insurance. Underinsurance will supplement what you collect from the responsible party allowing you to be more fully compensated.
What Is Comprehensive Collision Insurance?
Most Californians are dependent on their cars to work, go to school, and for everything else they do. That’s why it’s a good idea to have your own comprehensive collision insurance to cover damage to your vehicle, so you can be back on the road promptly. Having this coverage is also a must if your car is worth more than the $5,000 minimum limit for property damage liability.
Is Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage Mandatory In California?
It’s not mandatory in California, but insurance companies and their agents are required to inform customers of it’s availability and utility. They have a duty to encourage vehicle owners to purchase it. It’s actually obligatory to sign a waiver if you decline the coverage. It’s important to feel protected financially while you’re on the road. An experienced uninsured motorist attorney can consult with you about what coverage is best for your circumstances.
Find Out How We Can Help
At Silva Injury Law we promote healing through compassionate advocacy. With each case tailored to the individual, we look our for your best interests by evaluating your unique circumstances. Contact us today for a FREE in person or remote consultation.