| Read Time: 3 minutes | Auto Accidents

How to Get Your Modesto Police Accident Report

Getting a copy of your accident report from law enforcement is not something we do every day. However, obtaining the report is an important step to take after you are in an auto vehicle accident. The accident report provides important details—like who is at fault for how much of the accident—that will dictate which driver is responsible for compensating the other. So if you need to get a copy of your accident report in Modesto, CA, but don’t know where to start, read our guide below. Why Filing an Accident Report Is Important Filing an accident report isn’t just important for recovering damages after the accident. On top of its crucial role in the claims process, the California Vehicle Code requires drivers to report accidents to local law enforcement agencies in most circumstances. Drivers must report auto vehicle accidents to law enforcement if someone is injured, someone dies, or property damage of more than $1,000 occurs. The law enforcement officer who responds to the accident then files the report. Drivers who fail to notify law enforcement of an accident may face jail time of up to one year, a fine of up to $10,000, or both. On top of reporting to law enforcement, drivers must also file an accident report with the California Department of Motor Vehicles within ten days of an accident. A driver who fails to do so can face up to one year of license suspension. Reporting to the DMV is entirely separate from the police report but equally important. Getting Your Accident Report from the Right Agency Where you get your accident report depends on the law enforcement agency that responds to your accident. If your accident is within Modesto city limits, the Modesto Police Department will respond, and you will request your accident report from them. If the accident occurs on a highway, the California Highway Patrol will respond, and they will have your accident report on file. Getting Your Accident Report from the Modesto Police Department Getting your accident report from the Modesto Police Department is as simple as filling out their police report request form. The form will ask for details about your accident, like date, time, and location. You can file your completed police report request form in person or by mail with the Modesto Police headquarters. The headquarters is at 600 10th Street, Modesto, CA 95354. You can submit report request forms in person on Mondays and Tuesdays between 8:00 AM and 5:00 PM, or Wednesday and Thursday between 8:00 AM and 6:00 PM. Reports cost $.10 per page, and you must bring a valid photo ID.  Getting Your Accident Report from California Highway Patrol If your accident occurs on an interstate highway outside of Modesto, California Highway Patrol (CHP) will likely respond to the accident and file the subsequent report. If CHP responds to your crash, you can request a copy of your accident report through them directly. You can find the form here or in person at your local CHP office. The reports cost $10.00 for every 25 pages, and you can submit your request by mail or in person. You will find the Modesto CHP office at 4030 Kiernan Avenue, Modesto, CA 95356. They are open to the public from 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM, Monday through Friday. Contact Silva Injury Law for Help Today If you need help with any aspect of the claims process after your Modesto auto vehicle accident, the auto collision attorneys at Silva Injury Law, Inc. are here for you. The operating principles of our law firm are twofold. First, we strive to be decent human beings in every aspect of our legal practice, no matter who we are interacting with. Second, and equally important, our job isn’t to start fights. It’s to solve problems. That’s what we are here for, and that’s what our auto collision lawyers are committed to doing. Contact us today for help with your Modesto auto vehicle accident claim!

Continue Reading

| Read Time: 3 minutes | Auto Accidents

How to Get Your Merced Police Accident Report

When you begin the auto collision accident claims process, it is important to obtain a copy of your accident report from your local police. An accident report contains important crash details that will affect your accident claim. Most notably, your California crash report will include evidence about your degree of fault in the accident. Not everyone has requested an auto collision accident report from the police, however, and it is not always clear how to do so. If you are in Merced, California, and you need a copy of your accident report, read on for instructions. Always Be Sure to Report Your Accident The claims process is not the only reason you should file a report after an auto collision accident. Division 10 of the California Vehicle Code requires drivers to report all auto collision accidents to local law enforcement agencies. Failure to notify law enforcement is a misdemeanor. If someone is injured in the accident, failure to report is punishable by up to one year in jail, a fine between $1,000 and $10,000, or both. If only property damage occurs, the fine is no more than $1,000, and the potential jail time is no more than six months.  Drivers must also report accidents to the California Department of Motor Vehicles if injury, death, or property damage of over $1,000 occurs. It is important to note that a police report does not fulfill this requirement. Drivers who fail to report an accident to the California Department of Motor Vehicles within ten days of the accident may face driver license suspension for up to one year. Getting Your Accident Report in Merced If your accident was in Merced, California, there are two primary ways to obtain your auto collision accident’s police report. Where you obtain your accident report depends on what law enforcement agency responds to your accident. Requests for the Merced Police Department If the Merced Police Department responds to your accident, you can obtain a copy of your accident report from them. The City of Merced website has an online portal with information on requesting official documents. There, you will find a link to the records request form. If you need help with parts of the form, like the incident number, you can call the Merced Police Department for help at 209-385-6912. You can submit your request in person at the Merced Police Station Records Department located at 611 W. 22nd Street, Merced, CA 95340. Their hours of operation are 8:00 AM to 6:00 PM, Monday through Thursday, and Friday from 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM. The report costs $7.50. Requests for California Highway Patrol If your accident occurs on an interstate highway, California Highway Patrol (CHP) will likely respond to the accident and file the report. If that happens, you can request a copy of your accident report through CHP directly. The reports cost $10.00 for every 25 pages. You can find the form here or in person at your local CHP office, where you can submit the form in person or by mail. The Merced County CHP office is at 1500 Bell Drive, Merced, CA 95301. They are open to the public from 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM Monday through Friday. Should I Hire an Attorney After a Merced Auto Collision Accident? Whatever happens in an auto collision accident, it is always helpful to consult with an auto collision attorney afterward. Your lawyer will advise you on your best course of action to recover all the damages you suffer and alleviate the stress of the claims process. The auto collision lawyers at Silva Injury Law, Inc. have considerable experience helping victims of auto collision accidents solve the problems they face during the claims process and always strive to do so in the most efficient and respectful manner. Let us help you. Contact us today.

Continue Reading

| Read Time: 2 minutes | Auto Accidents

Parking Lot Accident Injury Claims In California

Automobile accidents can happen anywhere, and parking lots are no exception. Many parking lot accidents occur due to one or both drivers failing to pay attention to their surroundings. As parking lots can become crowded and busy, it can be easy for drivers to miss something and cause an accident. Whether it be adjusting the radio or air conditioning, or being preoccupied looking for a parking spot, distractions are frequent in parking lots. If you are involved in an accident in a parking lot in California, be sure to document the accident. Document the scene, report the accident to insurance companies, and if you sustain an injury as a result of the accident, contact a personal injury attorney who can assist you in pursuing compensation for your injuries. COMMON ACCIDENTS IN PARKING LOTS Given the busy nature of parking lots, accidents are common. The following are types of accidents which occur frequently in parking lots: Rear-end collisions due to a car stopping short Turning unexpectedly and rapidly in front of oncoming traffic Backing out of a spot without looking properly behind Driving the wrong way Driving through a crosswalk or a stop sign within the parking lot Driving at an unsafe speed Thankfully, the majority of parking lot accidents are minor in nature as they tend to occur at low speeds. However, if a pedestrian or high speed are involved in the accident, the injuries may be substantially more severe. Pedestrians who are knocked to the ground may suffer from a variety of minor to serous injuries, such as back or head injuries POTENTIAL LIABILITY FOR DRIVERS Drivers of vehicles who cause damage due to their negligence or wrongdoing can be held liable for injuries others obtain. In California, all drivers are required to use reasonable care to operate their vehicle, SUV, or truck safely so as to avoid causing harm to others. When a driver fails to look in the rear and side mirrors before baking out, drives too fast, ignores lights, signs and markings in a parking lot they may have breached a legal duty. POTENTIAL LIABILITY FOR PROPERTY OWNERS Property owners in California can be liable for injuries which result from dangerous conditions on their property which they either knew about or should have known about. Therefore, the owner of a parking structure or lot may be liable if they fail to maintain the property in a safe manner. This may involve an owner failing to make repairs, to provide proper staffing and training for staff, having inadequate lighting, failing to mark the proper directions of travel in narrow lanes, failing to mark crosswalks for pedestrians, or having improper designs for parking areas which can create an unreasonable risk of harm to parties near or in the area. Additionally, pedestrians may slip and fall on unmarked curbs or slimy concrete. Parking lot owners may be liable for injuries that are a result of these conditions. CONTACT AN ATTORNEY If you have been injured in a parking lot due to the negligence of another driver or the owner of the parking lot, reach out to an attorney. A skilled attorney at Silva Injury Law will assess your case for free and help you pursue compensation for your injuries.

Continue Reading

| Read Time: 2 minutes | Personal Injury

Injury Claims For Minors Against a School In California

We often view schools as a safe place where children can grow and learn in healthy ways. Unfortunately, there are often many dangers present at schools which can cause children to experience serious injuries and even death. Schools have a duty to take every reasonable action to protect the children in their care. When a school fails to do what is reasonable and their negligence causes a child to be injured or killed, the child has the right to seek compensation for their damages. If your child has been injured while at school, reach out to a skilled personal injury attorney who can assist you with your case. California law regarding school liability is complex and an attorney can ensure you and your child receive fair compensation. California School Duties Courts in California have established that schools have a duty to protect children in schools. The school is required to provide adequate supervision for all children in their care. While the school is not considered an insurer of the student’s safety, the school district does have a legal duty to act with reasonable care in supervising children in its charge. When the proximate cause of an injury was due to the failure of a school to exercise reasonable care, they can be liable for the injuries. Therefore, if the school failed to provide supervision and a child suffers an injury, and the injury could have been avoided had the school exercised proper supervision, there may be a liability claim. Examples of potential negligent conduct by school administrators, teachers, coaches and school districts include the following: Failing to properly maintain buses and means of transportation A lack of adequate supervision during extraocular activities, recess, lunch and breaks Failing to prepare food in a sanitary and safe manner Having inadequate emergency plans for fires, tornados, earthquakes, school shootings, etc. Failing to repair equipment, grounds, and unsafe structures Failing to supervise and have adequate safety measures for sports and physical activities Injuries That May Give Rise to Claims Against a School Common examples injuries which may result in school liability include the following: Playground injuries Bullying and physical violence injuries Bus accidents Chemical exposure and burns Sexual abuse or assault Shaken baby syndrome Broken bones Scratches, cuts, burns Brain damage and head injuries Violence leading to injury or death What to Do If Your Child Has Been Injured At School If your child has been injured as a result of a school’s negligence, there are specific steps which must be followed. As the required steps and claims include time specific and detailed information, it is best to pursue with the assistance of an attorney. With an experienced attorney at Silva Injury Law, you can be certain that all deadlines and requirements will be met and that your child receive the compensation they deserve.

Continue Reading

| Read Time: 2 minutes | Negligence

Proving Negligence In Child Injury Premises Cases

In California, landowners have a legal duty to ensure their property is safe for guests. When property owners fail to acknowledge and repair potential hazards that they were aware of, or should have been aware of, victims who are injured have a right to seek compensation for their damages. Even if the injured party was not invited onto the property, therefore trespassing, the owner still may have liability if their actions amounted to negligence. Whether or not a property owner is liable for the injured party’s damages will hinge on whether or not the owner acted with reasonable care in relation to the foreseeability of a risk. ATTRACTIVE NUISANCES AND PREMISES LIABILITY Generally, in California the law does not require that an individual be an invited guest in order for them to invoke property owner liability when they are injured on another’s property. This extends to children who suffer an injury on a property that they technically have trespassed on. This is particularly common when there is an attractive nuisance. An attractive nuisance is a condition on a person’s property which may attract children that are unable to appreciate the inherent danger of the condition. These objects, such as swimming pools, trampolines, man-made ponds, tractors and other equipment, can look enticing to children who may not comprehend the potential treat to safety these items pose. Therefore, even when a child trespasses, if they are injured or killed because of an attractive nuisance, the property owner may be held liable. PROVING PROPERTY OWNER LIABILITY In order to invoke property owner liability when a child has been injured due to an attractive nuisance, it is necessary to prove that the owner of the property failed to use reasonable care in keeping their property safe in relation to the foreseeability of risk. The following factors may be helpful in proving liability: If the property owner knew or should have known that it was likely for a child to trespass onto the property. If the property owner was aware or should have been aware of a hazardous condition and the associated risk it would create for individuals, such as children, on the property. Whether or not the injured child should have understood the risks associated with the hazardous condition. If the owner of the property could have reasonably fixed the hazardous condition. That the burden that would be placed on the property owner to eliminate the risk is minor compared to the potential risk posed to children who may enter the property. CONTACT AN ATTORNEY TODAY If you or your child has suffered an injury on another’s property due to the owner’s negligence, contact an experienced attorney at Silva Injury Law today for a free consultation. An attorney will work with you to help you understand the elements involved in your case, whether or not you have a potential claim, and assist you in investigating and building your case.

Continue Reading

| Read Time: 6 minutes | Other

Sexual Assault Civil Cases in California

Separate from criminal law, California civil law allows a person to seek justice and compensation for the emotional and physical injuries sustained from all types of sexual violence. All victims of sexual assault and sexual abuse have the right to file a claim and sue perpetrators for their damages. If you have been or currently are being sexually assaulted or abused, get to a place of safety and contact law enforcement. After you are safe, you can contact a civil attorney who can assist you in obtaining compensation for your damages. SEXUAL OFFENSES THAT CAN LEAD TO SEXUAL ASSAULT CIVIL CASES Any type of sex crime can be the grounds for a civil lawsuit. The following are common sexual offenses that lead to civil sexual assault lawsuits: Rape is defined as the unlawful sexual intercourse or any other sexual penetration of the vagina, anus, or mouth of another person, that can be with or without force, and completed by a sex organ, another body part, or with a foreign object, completed without the consent of the victim. Sexual Molestation. Molestation, also known as sex abuse, is abusive sexual behavior, and is often perpetuated by using force and/or taking advantage of another. When the abuse is by an adult towards an adolescent, this is referred to as child sexual abuse or statutory rape. Sexual Battery. Sexual battery is often a crime that is sexual in nature but does not involve penetration. This may be unwanted sexual touching of intimate body parts through fraud or without consent. Indecent Exposure. Indecent exposure is regarded as the deliberate public exposure by a person of a portion of their body, often a sexual organ, in a manner that is contrary to standards of appropriate behavior. Aggravated Sexual Abuse. Aggravated sexual abuse often involve the use of force, fear, or threats of bodily injury, death or kidnapping to coerce a victim to engage in an unwanted sexual act. It can also occur when drugs are given to an unknowing victim in order to render the victim unconscious for sexual purposes. Other types of offenses that can give rise to sexual assault cases can include sex and human trafficking, prostitution, the purchase or sale of a child for sexual purposes, the possession or distribution of child pornography, and sexual harassment. PARTIES THAT CAN SUE FOR SEXUAL ASSAULT CRIMES IN CALIFORNIA Anyone who has been the victim of unwanted touching or an unwanted sexual act of any time can sue for the damages. If you have a question about whether you can seek civil restitution, speak to an attorney. In addition to the victim, family members may also be able to sue for damages if they meet one of the following criteria: The sexual assault or abuse resulted in the victim’s death. In this case the family of the victim can bring a wrongful death or survivor’s action on behalf of the victim’s estate. The family member witnessed the assault, resulting in a potential action for negligent infliction of emotional distress. The assault or abuse resulted in a loss of moral support, intimacy, or companionship to a spouse or registered domestic partner (called the loss of consortium.) WHAT IS NEEDED TO FILE A SEXAUL ASSAULT LAWSUIT A common question is whether or not a victim must file criminal charges before they can file a civil lawsuit. In California, victims are not required to obtain a criminal conviction, or even a police report, before they can sue for damages. This means that even if the assault or abuse was never reported to the police, a victim can still seek damages. While a police report and criminal charges are not necessary, they can be helpful in a civil damages case. If reported, and followed by an investigation, any evidence located may be helpful in a lawsuit. Additionally, going to the police may help in bolstering the victim’s credibility. It is not uncommon for victims to not go to police, however, as victims often fear being believed and mistreated. If a victim does report to the police and the District Attorney chooses to not pursue criminal prosecution, or accepts a plea bargain, victims may feel discouraged. In this situation, a victim may feel they do not have a strong civil case. This does not mean a victim should not bring a civil case, or that a civil case will not be successful. In a civil case, the victim will actually be a party to the proceedings, meaning they get to decide whether the case is settled outside of court or if it goes to a trial. Finally, in a civil lawsuit, the burden of proof is lower than in criminal cases. This means that while the District Attorney may not have been able to prosecute a case to prove the extremely high burden of proof, a civil attorney may be able to meet the lower burden of proof for civil liability. SEXUAL ASSAULT CIVIL LAWSUIT BURDEN OF PROOF There is a difference between the burden of proof required for criminal and civil lawsuits in California. For criminal cases, the guilt must be proven “beyond a reasonable doubt.” This is a high standard that can be hard to prove. In civil lawsuits, however, the burden is by a “preponderance of the evidence.” To satisfy this burden the jury must find that it is “more likely than not” that the defendant did in fact assault or abuse the victim. Another key difference is that in criminal trials it is necessary for all 12 jurors to agree on the defendant’s guilt before a conviction can be reached, while in civil cases it only takes 9 jurors to agree that the defendant is liable. STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS FOR SEXUAL ASSAULT CASES ADULT CASES In California, victims who were adults at the time of the sexual assault and abuse have two years from the date of the assault seek civil damages. The time period for criminal charges is often shorter. One exception is when the defendant...

Continue Reading

| Read Time: 3 minutes | Other

Common Causes for Big Rig (Truck) Accidents in California

Roadway accidents always pose a significant safety risk. Accidents involving large commercial trucks such as tractor-trailers, eighteen-wheelers, and big rigs are an even greater risk. These large trucks can weigh up to twenty times the amount of a typical passenger car. Therefore, when these trucks are involved in an accident with a passenger car, it is almost a guarantee that they will crush the smaller vehicles.   There are significant safety regulations in place to prevent accidents caused by large trucks. However, it is not uncommon for truckers or truck companies to ignore safety regulations, increasing the risk of injury and death for those involved in accidents. Victims of these accidents are likely to sustain serious injuries, such as spinal injuries, amputations or life-altering brain damage, or to be killed.   If you have suffered as a result of an accident with a large truck, you may be able to recover compensation for any lost wages, medical bills, pain and suffering, and property damage as a result of the accident. Reach out to a qualified attorney at Silva Injury Law who can ensure you receive the compensation you deserve.   POTENTIAL CAUSES FOR TRUCK ACCIDENTS   Much like a car accident, truck accidents can happen at any time and in a variety of different ways. Large trucks, such as 18-wheelers and big rigs, are involved in 12 percent of traffic fatalities, despite only accounting for three percent of vehicles on the road.   Commercial truck drivers are considered professionals and are required to have special training and knowledge of increase safety regulations which control when and how they are able to drive their trucks. Unfortunately, both truck drivers and the companies that hire the drivers, may ignore the laws and regulations in order to increase delivery speeds. This may lead to drivers operating their trucks on an inadequate amount of sleep or with the assistance of drugs to stay awake. Companies may also fail to properly maintain tires, lights, brakes, and other equipment which can create an increased risk for serious accidents.   The following are common causes for big truck accidents:   Lack of experience or improper training Distracted or impaired driving Inappropriate and unsafe speeds Failure to obey traffic rules Driving while fatigued Lack of proper judgement   When a truck driver continues to operate their truck under any of these conditions, the risk for an accident that can lead to serious injury or death is increased.   PARTIES WHO CAN BE SUED FOLLOWING A TRUCK CRASH   There are a number of parties who may be liable when a truck accident takes place. Most often the truck driver will be a defendant in a claim. If the facts show that the driver was acting negligently while operating the vehicle, they can be held responsible for the losses and damages a victim suffered.   In addition to the driver the trucking company may also be sued. If the driver was an employee of a trucking company, they can be included in the lawsuit. If the company failed to maintain the truck properly, they may be held liable for potential damages. Similarly, if the truck company fails to provide adequate supervision for their employees or is negligent in the way they train their drivers, they may be responsible at least in part for the accident.   WHAT TO DO IF YOU HAVE BEEN INVOLVED IN A TRUCK CRASH   If you have been involved in a truck crash and have suffered due to the negligence of the truck driver, contact an attorney. You may have a right to compensation for your pain and suffering.

Continue Reading

| Read Time: 3 minutes | Personal Injury

Fitness Gym Injury Claims

Under personal injury law in California, when someone is injured in a fitness center accident, they can file a personal injury lawsuit against the responsible parties. Typically, injuries in fitness centers are caused by negligent gym owners, instructors, trainers, third party contractors who are responsible for the maintenance and inspection of equipment, or other gym members.   COMMON ACCIDENTS IN GYMS   There are a number of hazards that can lead to injury or even death in a gym. Gyms involve a number of people and often have large and heavy equipment. If this equipment is faulty and does not work properly, it can lead to injury. Likewise, if equipment is not properly maintained it may pose a safety risk. Additionally, it is common for employees to exhibit negligent behavior or even intentionally exhibit behavior that may pose a risk to the health and safety of gym members.   The actual gym itself may pose potential slip and fall threats, as surfaces may become dirty or slick. Finally, gyms often have many members using the facility at any given time which may lead to safety threats from irresponsible gym members or altercation between members.   POTENTIAL DAMAGES RELATED TO GYM INJURIES   The injuries one may sustain at a gym range from minor to severe. The implications of one’s injuries depend on the magnitude of the injury. It is common however for those injured in accidents at a gym to suffer the following damages:   Pain and suffering both physically and emotionally Lost wages from missing work due to medical complications Extensive medical bills Property damage Punitive damages   PROVING NEGLIGENCE FOR GYM INJURIES   In order to show that either the gym, trainer, contractor or another individual is liable, it is necessary to prove they were acting negligently when the accident happened. In order to determine negligence, it is important to look at what behavior caused the injury, whether or not the individual who caused the accident owned the victim a duty of care and if so, whether that duty of care was violated due to the behavior.   GYM OWNER’S DUTY   California law requires that a gym owner ensure that their facility is safe, and that all equipment is in good working condition and safe for gym member’s use. This means gym owners must maintain and upkeep the property to ensure it is in good condition. They must also regularly inspect the machines to ensure that they work properly. When equipment is damaged, the owner must make any necessary repairs. When equipment is undergoing repairs, the owner must have visible warning signs as well as warning signs for any dangerous condition throughout the facility.   EMPLOYEE AND TRAINER LIABLITY   If an employee of the gym is not conducting themselves appropriate in the gym and is acting negligent, the employer can be held liable. If an employee is failing to supervise the facility or is acting intentionally inappropriate the gym owner may be liable. Similarly, if there is an insufficient staff available to monitor the facility or if hiring is done negligently, the employer may be liable.   Similarly, if a personal trainer at the gym is completing their job negligently, they can be liable. This may occur when they instruct a gym member to do a workout incorrectly and it results in injury. A trainer can be liable for injuries which are a result of their negligent or reckless instructions.   CONTACT AN ATTORNEY TODAY   If you have been injured due to the negligent acts of a gym owner, employee or trainer, reach out to an attorney at Silva Injury Law who can assess your case for free and determine if you have right to compensation for your injuries.

Continue Reading

| Read Time: 2 minutes | Other

Sexual Misconduct Cases in California

Sexual misconduct is a term that is used to describe a variety of sexual related crimes and behaviors. “Sexual misconduct” often refers to someone who is behaving in a sexual way towards another person without obtaining that person’s consent for the behavior. Misconduct also often occurs in relationships where the dynamic of power between partners is shifted insomuch that the partner with power uses such to engage in sexual relations. TYPES OF BEHAVIOR THAT ARE CONSIDERED SEXUAL MISCONDUCT In California, a wide range of behaviors fall under the umbrella of sexual misconduct. At the heart of these behaviors is the perpetrator acting in a sexual way without receiving consent. For example, if someone repeatedly hounds an uninterested party for sexual favors, and the other party shows discomfort and disinterest, this is sexual misconduct. If someone exposes themselves to another person without receiving that person’s consent, it is misconduct. If a person makes aggressive or even suggestive comments to someone who has not shown interest, this can be considered to be sexual misconduct. Given the nature of these types of offenses, it is common for misconduct to happen to individuals while on dates or with a current or past partner. For this reason, domestic and intimate partner violence, as well as stalking and dating violence may be considered sexual misconduct. WHAT TO DO IF YOU ARE A VICTIM OF SEXUAL MISCONDUCT The most important thing to do is to get yourself to a safe place. Once safe, you can take the following steps: Seek medical help. Depending on the sexual misconduct, you may need to seek medical help. Medical professionals are trained to assist with individuals who have experienced a sexual crime and receiving medical treatment can be important in preserving evidence. Receiving psychological help in the form of a therapist can help as you process what has happened to you. Report the misconduct. It is often difficult to talk about what happened, as it is extremely violating and personal. Despite doing nothing wrong, you may experience self-blame and embarrassment. Speaking to someone about what has happened can help you receive the support and help you need. Preserve evidence. Your decision to report the misconduct is very personal, and it may take time for you to decide. It can therefore be extremely helpful to save evidence. Depending on the misconduct, this may include anything from clothing you were wearing to messages and pictures. Reach out to an attorney. When you decide you are ready to pursue legal action, contact a qualified attorney who can assist you in holding the perpetrator responsible. An attorney who is experienced in handling cases regarding sexual misconduct can ensure that you are heard and that your claim succeeds. PURSING CIVIL DAMAGES The civil justice system, unlike the criminal justice systems, allows survivors of sexual misconduct to bring claims for monetary damages. These claims, brought against the defendant, can help you receive compensation for your suffering related to their misconduct. Whether it is medical expenses, pain and suffering both of a physical and mental nature, loss of companionship, lost wages, or loss of earning potential. If you have suffered a loss of any kind due to another’s sexual misconduct towards you, you have a right to seek restitution. CONTACT AN ATTORNEY If you have been a victim of sexual misconduct, reach out to an attorney at Silva Injury Law today who will provide you with honest, supportive, and aggressive

Continue Reading

| Read Time: 2 minutes | Negligence

Electrocution & Electric Burn Injury Claims in California

Electrocution and electrical burns are regarded as damage that occurs to either the skin or internal organs following a person’s direct contact with an electrical current. Electrocution is the fifth leading cause of work-related injury deaths throughout the United States. Even when the victim does not die, they may experience severe burns, heart attacks, broken bone, busies, and spinal and neurological damage. Electrocution deaths and injuries are most likely to happen to utility workers, electricians, and individuals who work in the construction industry. However, it is possible for anyone to suffer an injury or wrongful death through electrocution and electric burns. If you or a loved one has suffered as a result of an electrocution, reach out to an attorney at Silva Injury Law. An attorney can assess your case and help determine if the electrocution or burn was due to another party’s negligence, and if so, can seek compensation for your damages. HOW ELECTRICTY CAN DAMAGE THE BODY Electrical burns are a result of electrocution. These burns are different from both chemical and thermal burns, as they cause subdermal damage. While electrical burns can cause surface damage, they often damage tissues deep under the skin. These burns can result in a wide range of damages, and in the extreme can cause shock to the brain, injuries to other organs, and even strain to the heart that may lead to death. In addition to damage to the skin, body systems which can be damaged include: Cardiovascular system: The heart is at risk for experiencing severe trauma due to electrocution. It is common for electrocution to result in asystole, which is when there is an absence of cardiac rhythm. This is also known as ventricular fibrillation, which can create rhythms that can be fatal is not treated promptly. Central nervous system: When the current from electricity passes through the body, this can damage both the spinal court and the brain. When this happens, the victim may be unconscious, experience amnesia or be confused about what happened. Long term issues such as psychiatric problems, delayed spinal cord issues, seizures, and damage to the brain and peripheral nerves may occur. Respiratory system: While the lungs are not commonly damaged by electrical currents, injuries can result when a current passes through eh chest or through the brain area that controls breathing. This can lead to difficulty breathing. Musculoskeletal system: Following electrocution, the muscles can suffer damage as a result of the prolonged tetany that can lead to kidney damage and even rhabdomyolysis. ELECTRICAL ACCIDENTS IN THE HOME Electrical burns and electrocution can happen in a variety of ways. They can take place in the workplace as well as in residential areas and in homes. Examples include: When high voltage power lines are left hanging low near homes When construction professionals or contractors making in-home repairs are negligent and leave power cords near water or fail to cut the power while making repairs. Defective products in the home, such as curling irons, power tools and hair dryers can also cause electrical injuries. REACH OUT TO AN ATTORNEY IF YOU HAVE SUFFERED AN INJURY DUE TO ELECTRICAL BURNS If you or a family member has suffered from an electrical burn, reach out to an attorney. Electrical injury and electrocution cases can be extremely complex and often require special expertise. An attorney can best ensure you receive any and all compensation you deserve for your injuries and suffering.

Continue Reading